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NOTICE TO SWIMMING POOL OWNERS

L

residing at

on (insert date) hereby request (contractor’s name/company)

to be issued a permit for a swimming pool.

I have been informed by my contractor that prior to the final inspection and use of my pool, I will need all inspections
and fencing required in accordance with applicable state and local regulations.

The 2000 legislature has amended Florida State to require that effective October 1, 2000, local jurisdictions cannot
approve a final pool inspection for a residential swimming pool over 24 inches deep unless it meets at least one of the
following pool safety feature requirements.

1) The pool must be isolated from access to the home by a barrier at least 4 feet high installed around the perimeter
of the pool. The barrier shall not have any gaps or openings that can allow a child to crawl under, squeeze through
or climb over the barrier and must be placed sufficiently away from the water’s edge to prevent a person from
immediately falling into the pool when the barrier is breached. Gates located in the pool barrier must open
outwards away from the pool and be self-closing and self-latching. The barrier must be separate from any fence,
wall or other enclosure surrounding the yard unless the fence, wall or other enclosure or portion thereof is
situated on the perimeter of the pool and meets the pool barrier requirements;

2) The pool must be equipped with a safety cover complying with the specifications of the American Society for Test
and Materials standard F-1346-91;

3) All doors and windows providing direct access from the home to the pool must be equipped with an exit alarm that
has a minimum sound pressure rating of 85 decibels at 10 feet; or

4) All doors providing direct access from the home to the pool must be equipped with a self-closing, self-latching
device with a release mechanism located at least 54 inches above the floor.

According to Florida State Statute, failure to comply with these requirements is a misdemeanor of the second degree,
punishable by imprisonment for up to 60 days or a fine of up to $500. Except that penalty shall be imposed if within 45
days after arrest or issuance of summons or notice to appear, the pool is equipped with at least one of the
aforementioned safety features and the responsible person attends a drowning prevention education program
developed by the Florida Department of Health.
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